Delete your Snapchat account: The regularly updated complete guide

Jorge Felix Last updated: September 17, 2022 Read time: 8 minutes Disclosure

Deactivating a Snapchat account is straightforward if you know what you're doing -- you need to be precise. So let us tell you the correct procedure and what happens next step.

Sneak peek at deleting Snapchat account

Snapchat is supposed to be the ultimate social media platform regarding privacy. But is it? More and more Snapchat users are deciding to leave this service behind because of privacy issues. If you’re also thinking about deactivating or deleting your Spanchat account, this article tells you everything you need to know.

Snapchat is a popular social media app allowing users to share their photos and videos with friends. While Snapchat is banned in China, the world’s largest user base, this limitation hasn’t prevented the platform from becoming one of the internet’s most significant ones. Hence, today, it boasts three hundred million daily users.

But the size of a social media network has nothing to do with its usefulness. Sometimes you need to get away from some things. If this time, Snapchat is what’s irritating you, here’s how to deactivate your Snapchat account once and for all.

Deactivate Snapchat account – Quick guide

We will explain in detail every step you need to take if you want to download all your Snapchat data and permanently disable your account. However, the essential process is pretty simple, and if you’re in a bit of a rush, here’s what you need to do:

  • Log in to your Snapchat account.
  • Click on the “Download my data” option to download all your personal data before you disable your Snapchat account.
  • Follow the “Account deactivation” link to start with the process.
  • You will need to provide your credentials again. If your account has 2FA, then follow through with the second-factor verification.

You are home now. Your Snapchat account is deactivated. Now you can’t use it, and others can’t send you messages.

Download your Snapchat data

If you’d like to keep any of the data you have stored on Snapchat, you need to do it before you disable your account. Once your account is disabled, you can’t do anything with it anymore unless you request a reactivation before 30 days. So having access to the information you intend to download requires an active account.

  • Log into your account.
  • Next, click on “My Data.”
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page. You’ll find the “Submit request” button. Click on it.
  • You now need to provide your email address verified with your Snapchat account (the one you provided when you signed up for a new account.) 

After a few seconds, the email address in question should get a message from Snapchat. Inside it, you will find a link that will enable you to download a file that contains all of your Snapchat information. That information may include your user name, snap history, chat history, memories, friends, search history, and bitmojis.

Deactivate your Snapchat account

After downloading your data, you are now safe to proceed towards Snapchat deactivation. However, bear in mind that these steps are just the initiation of your departure from the platform. To complete Snapchat account removal, you must perform some additional steps (explained in the following section).

But before deactivation, double-check your downloaded Snapchat data to ensure that you don’t regret deleting your account in the future. Once done, here’s how to proceed.

  • Log in to your Snapchat account.
  • Now go to the delete Snapchat account link.
  • A prompt will appear asking you to enter your login credentials. So, submit your email address and password and click the “Continue” button.

That’s it. You have now successfully deactivated (but not deleted) your Snapchat account.

How to delete your Snapchat account

So now that your account is deactivated, the next pertinent question is: what do you do to delete it completely? That is the easiest part: Nothing

Once you deactivated your Snapchat account, all you need to do is to count to 30 because the service will delete the account for you once 30 days have passed. It is all automatic, so you just sit back and wait. In the meantime, your account is already as good as deleted because it allows no activity whatsoever.

If you want your account deleted right now, we’re sorry to tell you that Snapchat doesn’t support that action. Instead, every disabled account must wait 30 days before it goes away.

You’ll know that deletion occurred because, after that point, you would have no more access to your list of friends, account settings, snaps, chats, stories, or any other item — unless, of course, you downloaded all your Snapchat data before disabling it.